BHA owns and manages the properties including public housing.

Serving families, seniors, and those with disabilities.

Units are offered based on availability.

Households pay 30% of their income for rent.


Tenant-Based Housing Choice Voucher (HCV)

The Tenant-Based Housing Choice Voucher program, commonly referred to as Section 8, provides low-income community members with an opportunity to access affordable housing in the private market. Participants in the HCV program are responsible for locating suitable housing that is affordable through a combination of rent paid by the tenant, and subsidy paid by the housing authority on behalf of the tenant. Payment Standards apply, and units must meet HUD’s basic Housing Quality Standards (HQS). 

Project-Based Housing Choice Voucher (PBV)

The Project-Based Housing Choice Voucher program is similar to the Tenant-Based Housing Choice Voucher program except the subsidy is attached to a specific unit, rather than the tenant household. After completing an initial 12-month lease period, tenants in a PBV unit may have an opportunity to move with continued assistance through the HCV program.

For the PBV program, BHA determines initial subsidy eligibility and the property owners/agents assess eligibility for tenancy.

HUD-Veterans Affairs Supportive Housing (HUD-VASH)

The HUD-Veterans Affairs Supportive Housing program combines Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) rental assistance with clinical support and case management provided by the Department of Veteran Affairs (VA). The Bellingham Housing Authority administers both Tenant-Based and Project-Based HUD-VASH.   

Eligible participants for HUD-VASH include Veterans experiencing homelessness who would benefit from case management support. Veterans must be eligible to receive services through the VA, and all referrals are provided by the Whatcom Homeless Service Center’s Housing Interest Pool.

Public Housing (PH)

Public Housing was established to provide decent and safe rental housing for eligible low-income families, the elderly, and persons with disabilities. Public Housing comes in all sizes and types. The Bellingham and Whatcom County Housing Authorities own and operate apartment complexes throughout the cities of Bellingham, Blaine, Everson, Sumas and unincorporated Whatcom County.

To qualify, eligible households must be low-income (80% AMI or below). Tenants typically pay 30% of their adjusted income toward rent and utilities.

Ready to Apply?

All applications for the Subsidized Housing Programs are done online through our Applicant Portal.